The Little Red School House
Step back in time and visit our one-room schoolhouse, formerly known as “Old School No. 5”. The original schoolhouse was located on West River near Fix Road before it was moved to Bush and Baseline Road. A larger school replaced it in 1914.
In the 1800s and early 1900s, there were 11 schoolhouses on Grand Island. By 1937, these one-room schools closed as the town’s 100 elementary school students relocated to the Sidway School.
Walter Kelly acquired the schoolhouse in 1974 to restore it so children could see first hand the kind of school their grandparents attended. He diligently collected old desks, black boards, photos and a heating stove.
The schoolhouse still stands on property behind the store and is open during regular store hours. Visit and experience what it was like to be a student in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.